Printer friendly layout

Club Trophies

The club have a number of junior and senior trophies that are awarded each year at the AGM which takes place in May/June.

Junior Performance Trophy

Awarded to those junior members of SO who have produce the best competitive performance(s) relative to their peers in major competitions.

Recipient is chosen by Club Captain and Junior Team Manager

Ricky Wise Junior Trophy

The Ricky Wise Junior Trophy is awarded in memory of former club member Ricky Wise. It is presented to a Club Junior to recognise both personal achievement throughout the year and also to someone who has contributed significantly to the Club.

The recipient is chosen by a panel comprising the Club Chairman, Junior Team Manager, Training Co-ordinator and Club Captain.
Selection Criteria

Helen Wise, Ricky’s wife writes: Ricky was introduced to Orienteering by my sister and her husband Hilary and Martin Sellens at the age of 40. From that very first course he was hooked and the sport became a great passion of his.  Ricky realised that the orienteering was great family entertainment and valued its qualities in helping young people’s development.
He travelled the country taking our son Alex and at times other members of the SO and SEOA Junior Squads to events - having spent 36 years in the Royal Navy he had developed a great understanding of how young people ticked and got on well with them.  Life when Ricky was around was never dull or quiet and he would very often have the youngsters wound up and raring to go.

A fanatic about the sport and what it offered to all members of the family, especially teenagers and his enthusiasm was over powering, he would never refuse any person who needed help.  He was always ready to give the full account of his run to any one that was willing to listen, plus was never shy to give his opinion to others.

The previous recipients of the Ricky Wise Trophy are:
2013 - Edward Lines
2012 - Euan Marsh & Alex Lines
2011 - Jonathan Crickmore
2010 - Alex Lines
2009 - Lucy Thraves
2008 - Bryony Crickmore

SOOTY Trophy

The SOOTY (Southdowns Orienteer Of The Year) Trophy is presented to someone who may not be a high ranking orienteer, but to someone who has given a huge amount of time and effort to the Club over the year, in one, or more often multiple roles.

The recipient is chosen by the Club Chairman.

The previous recipients of the SOOTY are:
2015 - Mike Hooper
2014 - Karen Ashworth
2013 - Mike Gammon
2012 - Ali Hooper
2011 - Robert Lines
2010 - Jane Lambert
2009 - Ed Cox
2008 - John Faller
2007 - Kieran & Gillian Devine
2006 - Michael Merritt
2005 - Steve Jarvis
2004 - Robin Smith
2003 - Judy Bridge
2002 - Les Hooper
2001 - Neil Crickmore
2000 - Peter & Jaquie Drake
1999 - Dave McTurk

Posted by Anna Chapman on 01st Nov 17






Join our Mailing List to recieve updates & event reminders by email

AOL user?

Our Privacy Policy.